Being a Watchman

Wise Monkeys

Son of man, I have made thee a watchman unto the house of Israel:
therefore hear the word at my mouth, and give them warning from me.
~Ezekiel 3:17~

Have you ever been in a friendly conversation on some issue when suddenly the other person flings an accusation at you like:

  • “You’ve been brainwashed.”
  • “You’re closed-minded.”
  • “You only get your news from Fox.”

When this happened did you feel like you were blind-sided by the statement? Did you feel at a loss for the best way to respond to the claim? Did the other person walk off smug before you could respond? Did you find yourself with all sorts of retorts on the tip of your tongue–retorts you felt you could not give, because you felt they would do more harm than good?

All too often, those who are taking on the role of watchmen are subjected to these and similar accusations. A watchman’s job is to keep a sharp lookout for any potential danger and to repeatedly bring it to the attention of those whose lives are in danger–until the threat is removed or until the threat overtakes those being warned. If a watchman actively does his job, even as the threat is overtaking those who refused to heed the warning, the results are by no means the fault of the watchman–he is not a guard, his job is to watch and warn. However, if the watchman fails to faithfully discharge his duty–if he doesn’t warn at all or if he gives up when faced with the apathy and accusations of those in danger–the results fall heavily on the watchman’s shoulders and he has a large share of the guilt to bear. Nonetheless, many times the watchmen are told to be like the wise monkeys: “See no evil; hear no evil; speak no evil.”

A Day in the Life of a Watchman

Imagine with me a moment the life and duties of a watchman on a medieval fortress wall. At the beginning of his shift, he climbs up to his post. For hours he looks at the vista beyond the wall. He actively scans the surrounding area as far as the eye can see. He cannot pause or linger on the beauty in the vista, for that could be the defining moment of loss for those inside of the fortress. He cannot think about the benefits to be reaped from the produce outside of the walls. He cannot pause in his duties to enjoy the refreshing joy of the antics and games of the children around him. He must stay focused on scouring the vista for threats. These threats could be as great as an invading army. They could be as small as a lone wolf lurking in the shadows. They could be as unstoppable as a blizzard. Whatever the threat, it is the watchman’s duty to find it and to call warnings to see to the removal of stoppable threats or the proper preparations to battle the unstoppable threats. If the warnings are heeded, the watchman then becomes a director of sorts: helping people understand the timetable before the arrival of the threat, suggesting strategies to conquer the threat.

Now, in your imagining, take a moment to picture some different responses to the warnings:

  1. The people in the fortress totally ignore the warnings
    The watchman calls warning after warning. He actively discharges his duties. At first the people in the fortress simply ignore his cries, but as he continues to not take their hints of disinterest, they begin attacking him. “Shut up,” they cry. “Stop being a harbinger of woe.” “We aren’t listening, so why don’t you stop talking?” When the watchman still cries the warnings, some people take to finding ways to silence him. There is talk of putting him in the dungeon, of gagging him, of firing him, even talk of forever silencing him. However, when the evil overtakes the people in the fortress and they are unprepared, they look for someone to blame–and most eyes turn to the watchman. The accusations then start flying: “If you had correctly warned us…” “If you had made clear the danger…” “If you had forced us to listen…” How does the watchman reply? He stands there with tears streaming down his face, grieving for the willful ignorance of the people and their unwillingness to accept responsibility for their current situation.
  2. The people in the fortress initially ignore the warnings, but ultimately heed them
    The watchman calls warning after warning. He actively discharges his duties. For some time the people in the fortress simply ignore his cries, but as he continues to not take their hints of disinterest, they send another to verify the warnings the watchman is crying. The second man returns and affirms that the warnings are indeed true and the threat is close at hand. The people scramble to prepare for the threat. Ultimately, lives are lost, many have suffered great loss, and there is much sorrow among those in the fortress, but all is not lost. The people did overcome. What is the watchman’s response in this situation? Still tears streaming down his face, grieving for the slowness of those in the fortress. He realizes how much of the current suffering and sorrow could have been alleviated had those inside acted immediately on the warnings. Yet, he is grateful for the end results. Yes, there are still accusations, but they are less and tend to be shut down by others inside the fortress who see the end results the same way as the watchman.
  3. The people in the fortress immediately heed the warnings
    The watchman calls the warning and the message is taken immediately to the head authority. That authority immediately goes to the watchman to verify the threat and to consult on the best way to eliminate or prepare for the threat. The authority then goes to prepare for the coming situation. The watchman stays at his post, giving updates on the situation as needed or requested. The end result of this scenario is that there is minimal or no suffering, sorrow or loss. While most people simply move on with their lives, some of the people in the fortress gratefully thank the watchman. What is the watchman’s response? Joy–joy over the end result; joy at the knowledge of his faithful discharge of duties; joy in knowing that he did not have to witness suffering, sorrow, and loss from willful hard-heartedness.

Being a Watchman Today

The purpose of this tale was to help you see what this occupation was. We tend not to have watchmen in our day-to-day lives, so the concept is difficult for many to grasp. Nevertheless, we have a desperate need for watchmen in our daily lives. The threats may not be foreign. They may not be “acts of God.” Yet, they still exist and need to have warnings called.

Let me give you an example of what I mean. In the early months of 2010, many of my friends were incredibly excited about the proposed healthcare legislation. They honestly believed that Obamacare was the solution to all health insurance woes in the United States. Among my peers I was often the sole dissenting voice. Why did I speak out against something so incredibly popular? I actually had the opportunity to spend a year working for a country with a government paycheck and socialized health care. I watched a friend’s leg turn purple and black from three blood clots–something that we would have rushed to the OR to have fixed immediately. However, this friend was put on the waiting list (at least a 6 month wait) for the surgery. Why? Because the surgery was deemed “elective.” I personally had to suffer an allergic reaction to a prescription in order to get an optometrist appointment within a week instead of waiting 6 months for an appointment to tell me what was wrong with my eyes. Additionally, I knew that there was no way that that much regulation would not come without a hefty price tag–a price tag that would be passed on to the paying public, whether in the raising of  premiums, in increased taxes, or in both.

Yet, when I voiced these reasons, I was told I was brainwashed. I was told I was closed-minded and cruel. I was told I got my news solely from Fox. Since when does popular rhetoric trump first-hand experience? How could these friends who filled my Facebook feed with pro-Obamacare news and articles possibly think I didn’t hear anything other than what Fox News reported? Honestly, these questions typically ended with the other person walking off instead of answering or discussing them. So, are these “trump cards” really trumping my arguments or is there more to this picture?

Defining Terms

There is an old saying debaters have found to be true time and time again: He who defines, wins. If the person bringing up a point in debate does not define the term, the opponent has the opportunity to give a clear definition. Regardless, the first person to define a term typically is the one who wins. Why? Because the first definition becomes the foundation for all the following arguments.

So, let’s look at the dictionary definitions of six key terms:

  • Brainwash:
    to effect a radical change in the ideas and beliefs of (a person), esp by methods based on isolation, sleeplessness, hunger, extreme discomfort, pain, and the alternation of kindness and cruelty”
  • Brainwashing:
    a method for systematically changing attitudes or altering beliefs, originated in totalitarian countries, especially through the use of torture, drugs, or psychological-stress techniques.”
    any method of controlled systematic indoctrination, especially one based on repetition or confusion”
  • Indoctrination:
    the act of indoctrinating, or teaching or inculcating a doctrine, principle, or ideology, especially one with a specific point of view
  • Indoctrinate:
    to instruct in a doctrine, principle, ideology, etc., especially to imbue with a specific partisan or biased belief or point of view
  • Closed-minded:
    having a mind firmly unreceptive to new ideas or arguments; modeled after open-minded”
  • Open-minded:
    having or showing a mind receptive to new ideas or arguments”
    “unprejudiced; unbigoted; impartial

In my experiences, I have found the people flinging these “trump cards” in my face are typically the ones who are truly closed-minded. They refuse to hear any other side of an argument that doesn’t nicely line up with what they believe–even if their beliefs are simply the result of an ideological ideal taught to them and have no basis in first-hand experience.

As I have already shown in the Obamacare story, I did extensive research. I sought to understand what the legislation actually was. I looked at the pros and cons of the legislation. I sought to understand what the rhetoric being used was actually trying to accomplish (not simply what it appeared to want to accomplish). I read and read–those for it, those against it, those who sought to find a middle ground. I researched what government, “free” medical insurance countries actually had and had to deal with any time they wanted medical assistance.

My conclusions were drawn from this research in conjunction with personal, first-hand, eye-witness experience. I did not let the media decide where I stood on the issue (Fox or otherwise). I did not let peer pressure sway me. Yet, I was labeled “closed-minded.” Hmm…

The Conclusion of the Matter

Even with the opposition to my warnings, I continued and still continue to sound them. I still receive reactionary responses. I am still accused of being “brainwashed” because of my stand on the issue.

The positive of this story actually started unfolding about two years ago–when the actual legislation kicked in more or less in full force. The same friends who refused to hear my warnings about the dangers of this legislation began bemoaning the negative consequences they were suffering under Obamacare. They wanted me to sympathize with their plight–a plight that has not only limited my job hunt significantly, but has cut my potential working days to 18 days a month. They want a shoulder to cry on (mine is apparently wonderful for this purpose). They want someone who will quietly nod along in sympathy while they tell their truly sad sob-stories.

They are shocked to find that my shoulder is not available for them to cry on and that I don’t sympathetically nod and listen attentively. They call me uncaring or unloving.

What is my response? I don’t say “I told you so” and I don’t apologize and bow to their whims and wishes. I do pointedly remind them of those early discussions–the ones where they actively shut my warnings down. When they complain that they can no longer get the treatments, care or prescriptions they had before Obamacare, I remind them of the stories I told of the difficulties of treatments under socialized medicine. When they complain about the huge increase in their premiums, I remind them of the attempted discussions on the price tags which would inevitably be attached to this program. Yes, my friends are shocked and appalled at my apparent callousness, but what they see as callousness is really me urging them to actively seek changes that would fix their problems. Crying “Woe is me” will never fix the problem. Sitting around complaining will never bring changes.

Is being a watchman fun? No.
Do I enjoy the “told you so” moments that arise when the warnings go unheeded? No.
Do I wish I didn’t have this duty before God and man? Many, many times.
Will I ever stop being a watchman? Of course–when I die, but never before then.
Why? Because of my duty and because we, in this day and age, are desperately lacking watchmen.

Do I wish more people would stand up and be watchmen? Most assuredly. So, join with me. Do thorough research on the issues that are important to you and your friends. Find all the sides, good, bad, ugly, pro, and con, to the issues. Suggest solutions that minimize or remove all negative consequences. But, no matter what, call out the clarion call of the watchman. Don’t join the masses of the blind simply following wherever the most appealing tune is going.

One comment

Leave a comment